Nashville First Baptist Church entrusts a body of lay leaders, called trustees, to collaborate with the members, pastors, staff, deacons and standing committees to oversee the work of the church. The nine trustees hold staggered terms.

In accordance with the church by-laws a Trustee Selection Committee was convened at the beginning of the fourth quarter of 2022 consisting of Terrell Smith, Chuck Cagle, Jamie Nabakowski, Tad Harris and Wilburn Honeycutt.

Brad Dunn, Joy Harris and David Clay are current trustees who have their first term expiring on December 31, 2022. Each is eligible for a three-year renewal term.  Trustees eligible for a renewal term are automatically considered a nominee if their qualifications are maintained and if the Trustee Selection Committee affirms the nomination.

Additionally, John Galloway, a current trustee with a term ending on December 31, 2023, is unable to serve the remainder of his term, which will result in a vacancy effective January 1, 2023. As a result, in November, the Trustee Selection Committee initiated a church-wide request for trustee recommendations.

The Trustee Selection Committee hereby nominates and submits the following individuals for trustee service:

Renewal term beginning January 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2025:

  • Brad Dunn
  • Joy Harris
  • David Clay

Term beginning on January 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2023:

  • Andrew Cotton*

*If elected, Andrew Cotton would be eligible to be nominated for a three-year renewal term that would be begin on January 1, 2024.

Voting for nominated Trustees will occur from Sunday, Dec. 4 to Thursday, Dec. 15. Church members are encouraged to vote online or may request a written ballot from the church office. Each trustee must be voted on individually according to church by-laws.  To be selected, a nominee must receive at least two-thirds (2/3rds) approval by the church members voting.  All votes must be registered by 6:30 p.m. on Dec. 15.



Brad Dunn

Member since 1978; Stages Class, New Covenant Dept (teacher). Wife Melanie; sons Conner (29), Mitchell (25), Spencer (21). Financial Advisor, Pinnacle Financial Partners. Current service: Deacon, Trustee Prior: Personnel Committee (chair), Executive Leadership Council, Finance Committee, SS Director, RA leader

David Clay

Member 1998 – 2001; 2004 – present. College Class, New Covenant Dept (director). Wife Becky; children Daniel (17), Ben (16), Lucy (13). Attorney; Partner at Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis. Current service: Trustee Vice-Chair, Deacon, Youth Choir Sponsor, Deacon Nomination Committee. Prior: Deacon (chair, vice-chair), Master Plan Implementation Committee, Finance Committee, Executive Leadership Council, Hospitality Service Group

Joy Harris

Member since 2009; Matthew 18:20 Class, New Covenant Dept. Husband Dennis; children Julia (11), Vann (9). Former Asst. Treasurer, Tennessee Treasury Dept. (10 yrs). Current service: Trustee Chairperson. Prior: Church Recreation Committee, Father/Daughter event team, GA Leader

Andrew Cotten

Member since 2017; Matthew 18:20 Class, New Covenant Dept (teacher). Wife Neely; children Mac (8), Natalie (5), Anna James (3). Nurse anesthetist. Current service: Deacon, Safety & Security, Giving Grows Coordinator, Worship Care Volunteer, Church Recreation/Picnic, Medical Response Team


The current trustees are Jimmy Hester, Terrell Smith, John Galloway (term expires on December 31, 2022), Wilburn Honeycutt, Steve Goins, Linda Tullock, Brad Dunn, Joy Harris, and David Clay.