In the Community

We’re Reaching Refugees—Will You Help?

There are more than 70,000 refugees/asylees in Tennessee. At Nashville First, we’re partnering with the Tusculum Hills Global Outreach Partnership, undergirded by Begin Anew (formerly Christian Womens Job Corps). The purpose is to carry out the Great Commission and minister in the name of Jesus among the thousands of immigrant and refugee families from around the world living in Nashville’s Nolensville Road corridor. Funded by our church’s mission dollars, the need is great!

If you can help with any of these volunteer roles, contact Wes Turner, WTurner@GSRM.com.

TYPE OF ROLE

TIME AVAILABILITY ROLE DESCRIPTION

AGE RANGE

After-School Tutor Monday & Wednesday Student’s need all the help they can get as they learn English. Middle and High School
Mentors/families/teens/men/women Flexible A friendly face to teach them how to survive in our city. Children-Adults
Wednesday Night Meals Wednesday Prepare and serve immigrant-friendly meals. Children -Youth
Worship Service Children’s Programs Multiple days and times Provide programming and activities for international worship services for children.
Children’s Freedom Choir Wednesday nights Provide and serve an immigrant-friendly meal.
Arabic Revival October Provide childcare.
Transportation As needed For doctor appointments, grocery, etc.
Home Maintenance As needed Teach how to change light bulbs, ac filter, caulk, drywall repair, paint, winterize, etc.
Cooking/Shopping As needed Teach how to stretch groceries, buy bulk, etc.
Bible Study for Teen Girls Monday & Wednesday Already established; needs new leader. Middle and High School
Journey Program Monday & Wednesday After-school program, activities, singing, Bible studies. Middle and High School
Finance Classes As needed Teach how to set up budget, taxes, car tags, school supplies, etc.
Legal Aide As needed Escort to witness apartment lease signing.
Friendship Center Childcare Tues, Wed, Thurs Provide childcare while parents are in class. younger children
Highlands Apartment Ministry Ongoing Develop relationships, take women to grocery stores, community activities, etc.
Music Arts Camp Summer 2018 Teachers, guides, bus riders, bus captains, neighborhood canvassing, food prep., registration
VBS Summer 2018 Teachers, guides, bus riders, bus captains, neighborhood canvassing, food prep., registration, musiciansT
How to apply for a job and to interview As needed Teach basic application skills, how to dress, and how to interview, etc.
Immigrant Garden Spring 2018 Build community garden and train families how to grow food for family or for sale.

Additional Nashville First Ministry Partners who need volunteers:

Ministry Name Contact Email
4:13 Strong Steve Norris email
Baptist Center for Ethics Cliff Vaughn cliff@ethicsdaily.com
Baptist Global Response Mary Frances Satterwhite msatterwhite@gobgr.org
Begin Anew Tracey Gholson nashville@beginanew.org
Big Brothers Big Sisters of Middle Tennessee Karen Fitzhugh
karen.fitzhugh@mentorakid.org
Bivocational and Small Church Leadership Network Lloyd Elder lloyd.elder@belmont.edu
City Church Network Josh Lansford josh@lansfordfit.com
End Slavery Tennessee Lesley Ann Owen owenlesleyan@gmail.com
Habitat Unity Build Gladys Wolfe whwol@comcast.net
Hope Clinic for Women Missi Mitchell
mmitchell@hopeclinicforwomen.org
InterFACE Ministries Charles Parker cap3105@bellsouth.net
Joy with Japan Betsy Wedekind betsywedekind@gmail.com
LifeLines Outreach Richard Gay richard.gay@comcast.net
Nashville Baptist Association Rusty Sumrall
Nashville Rescue Mission Deena Turner
NBA Toy Store Becky Brooks Becky0301@att.net
Operation Christmas Child Gwen Word gwen.word@comcast.net
Project Connect Nashville Michelle Murdock
Pregnancy Care Center Lisa Cathcart
Rooftop Nashville Julia Gildemeister julia.rooftop@gmail.com
Room in the Inn Maggie Sananikone
Second Harvest Food Bank Sharon Roberts sharon219059@yahoo.com
Siloam Family Health Center Wes Harrell
Sweet Sleep Stuart McAlister info@sweetsleep.org
Tennessee Baptist Adult Homes Mark Anderson manderson@tnbaptists.org
Tennessee Baptist Children’s Homes Jeff McGinnis jmcginnis@tbch4kids.org
Tennessee Baptist Convention Billy Hoffman bhoffman@tnbaptist.org
Tennessee Baptist Disaster Relief Wes Jones wjones@tnbaptist.org
The Joseph School Dennis Wildsmith
The Next Door Rebecca Nofi
rebecca.nofi@thenextdoor.org
Trinity/HOPE Keith Logan trinityhope.KL@gmail.com
Tusculum Hills Global Partnership Terry Hudgins terryh@thbc.com
kbailey@thbc.com

MINISTRY PARTNERS NEEDING VOLUNTEERS IN THE COMMUNITY

Begin Anew empowers individuals to overcome the obstacles caused by poverty by providing education, mentoring, and resources. Services are open to persons of all faiths and culture.

Project Connect helps build relationships with individuals that are stuck in the cycle of poverty, and connect them to the faith community. They provide knowledge, skills and encouragement through relationships and point them to the church that will walk with them throughout life’s joys and struggles.

Rooftop Nashville partners with congregations, providing emergency rental assistance to Davidson County residents. The goals are to prevent homelessness and provide hope.

The Next Door provides a continuum of evidence-based services for women and families impacted by addiction, mental illness, trauma and/or incarceration. Services are provided with Christ-centered compassionate care.